The London roads that will have a new 20mph speed limit from 2020

Speed limits in Central London will be reduced down to 20mph on 5.5 miles of road from 2020 onwards.

Transport for London has confirmed that all roads within the Congestion Charge zone and Aldgate Gyratory will lower speed limits to 20mph, reflecting laws that are already in place in outer boroughs.

This is despite drivers taking to Twitter to complain about the new laws.

One person said the news should be “Accurately translated as…we are delighted to introduce the new 20mph speed limit in London as an underhanded way to amass millions in fines & help cut the mass overspend from TFL after years of mismanagement and incompetence.”

The move comes as an effort to reduce the number of traffic-related deaths.

It means that from next year two fifths of London’s roads will have 20mph speed limits.

And the fines if you break these are not to be joked about – you’ll face a penalty of £100 at a minimum and three points on your licence if you break the speed limit.

But which roads are affected?


  • Albert Embankment
  • Lambeth Palace Road
  • Lambeth Bridge


  • Millbank
  • Victoria Embankment


  • Goodman’s Yard
  • Borough High Street
  • Great Dover Street
  • Blackfriars Road
  • Druid Street (the part between Tower Bridge Road and Cruxifix Lane)
  • Crucifix Lane
  • Bermondsey Street (between Crucifix Lane and Tooley Street)
  • Queen Elizabeth Street (between Tooley Street and Tower Bridge Road)

City of London

  • Victoria Embankment
  • Upper Thames Street
  • Lower Thames Street
  • Minories

Tower Hamlets

  • Tower Hill
  • Leman Street
  • Mansell Street
  • Prescot Street